How to allow users permission to delete their own files but they cannot delete other users files

Home > Search > How-to
  by

This scenario is almost always only needed when using a network share.

Remove the Delete & Delete subfolders and files permission:

  1. Right-click on the parent folder and select Properites
  2. Select the Security tab
  3. Highlight the group that contains the users that will be using the parent folder and select Advanced
  4. Highlight the group that contains the users that will be using the parent folder and select Edit
  5. Select Show Advanced Permissions
  6. Ensure Allow is selected, and then ensure the following permissions are not selected:
    1. Full Control
    2. Delete
    3. Delete subfolders and files
  7. Select OK
  8. Select OK to close the Advanced Security Settings pop-up box

If we stop now, this would prevent any file from being deleted in the share. We need to now allow users to create files they own:

  1. Right-click on the parent folder and select Properites
  2. Select the Security tab
  3. Select Edit
  4. Select Add
  5. Type creator owner, select Check Names, and select OK
  6. Select OK

 

 



Add a Comment




We will never share your name or email with anyone. Enter your email if you would like to be notified when we respond to your comment.




Please enter in the box below so that we can be sure you are a human.




Comments